Five College Academic Calendar 2014-2015

(also view the 2013-2014 calendar)

View a PDF file of this calendar formatted 8.5" x 11".

Classes begin
AC: Tu, Sept 2
HC: W, Sept 3 
MHC: W, Sept 3 
SC: Th, Sept 4 
UM: Tu, Sept 2

Deadline for adding Interchange courses
AC: W, Sept 10 
HC: Tu, Sept 16
MHC: Tu, Sept 16 
SC: W, Sept 17 
UM: M, Sept 15

No classes
HC: Tu, Sept 18; W Nov 5
MHC: Mountain Day (TBA)
Please note: for Mount Holyoke College, Mountain Day (classes starting before 4 p.m. cancelled) is not known until the President makes the announcement. 
SC: Mountain Day (TBA); Otelia Cromwell Day (TBA)
Please note: For Smith College, Mountain Day (morning and afternoon classes cancelled) and Otelia Cromwell Day (afternoon and evening classes cancelled) are two separate days with abbreviated class schedules. Mountain Day is not known until the President makes the announcement.
UM: Columbus Day M, Oct 13; Veterans Day Tu, Nov 11

Mid–semester break
AC, HC, MHC, SC: Sat, Oct 11 – Tu, Oct 14 

Interchange course request period for Spring
AC: M, Nov 10 – F, Nov 14
HC: M, Nov 10 – F, Nov 21 
MHC: M, Nov 10 – F, Nov 21 
SC: M, Nov 10 – F, Nov 21 
UM: W, Nov 12 – F, Nov 21

Thanksgiving vacation
AC: Sat, Nov 22 – Sun, Nov 30 
HC: W, Nov 26 – Sun, Nov 30 
MHC: W, Nov 26 – Sun, Nov 30 
SC: W, Nov 26 – Sun, Nov 30 
UM: W, Nov 26 – Sun, Nov 30 

Last day of classes
AC: W, Dec 10
HC: F, Dec 12 
MHC: Tu, Dec 9 
SC: Th, Dec 11
UM: F, Dec 5

Reading/study period
AC: Th, Dec 11 – Sun, Dec 14 
MHC: W, Dec 10 – F, Dec 12 at 7 p.m. 
SC: F, Dec 12 – Sun, Dec 15 
UM: Sat, Dec 6; Sun, Dec 7

Examination period
AC: M, Dec 15 – F, Dec 19 
MHC: F, Dec 12 at 7 p.m. – Tu, Dec 16 noon 
SC: M, Dec 16 – F, Dec 19 
UM: M, Dec 8 – Sat, Dec 13

Grades due
AC: M, Jan 5 
HC: M, Jan 5 
MHC: M, Jan 5 
SC: Th, Jan 8 
UM: M, Dec 22 at midnight

January term
AC: M, Jan 5 – W, Jan 21 
HC: M, Jan 5 – Th, Jan 15
MHC: M, Jan 5 – F, Jan 16 
SC: M, Jan 5 – F, Jan 23 
UM: M, Dec 15 – Sat, Jan 17

Martin Luther King Day
All campuses: M, Jan 19        

Classes begin
AC: Th, Jan 22 
HC: W, Jan 21 
MHC: Tu, Jan 20 
SC: M, Jan 26 
UM: Tu, Jan 20

Deadline for adding Interchange courses
AC: F, Jan 30 
HC: Tu, Feb 3
MHC: M, Feb 2
SC: F, Feb 6 
UM: M, Feb 2

No classes
HC: Th, Feb 12; W, Apr 1 
SC: Rally Day – W, Feb 18 
UM: Presidents' Day – M, Feb 16; Patriot’s Day – M, Apr 20

Spring recess
All campuses: Sat, Mar 14 – Sun, Mar 22

Interchange course request period for Fall
AC: M, Apr 6 – F, Apr 10 
HC: M, Apr 6 – F, Apr 17 
MHC: M, Apr 6 – F, Apr 17 
SC: M, Apr 6 – F, Apr 17 
UM: M, Mar 30 – F, Apr 17

Last day of classes
AC: W, May 6 
HC: F, May 1 
MHC: M, Apr 27 
SC: F, May 1 
UM: Th, Apr 30

Reading/study period
AC: Th, May 7 – Su, May 10
MHC: Tu, Apr 28 – Th, Apr 30 at 7 p.m. 
SC: Sat, May 2 – M, May 4 
UM: Sat, May 2 – Sun, May 3

Examination Period
AC: M, May 11 – F, May 15
MHC: Th, Apr 30 at 7 p.m. – M, May 4 at noon 
SC: Tu, May 5 – F, May 8 
UM: M, May 4 – Th, May 7

Grades Due, Seniors
AC: M, May 18 at 9:00am
HC: M, May 11
MHC: W, May 6 at noon 
SC: M May 11

Grades Due, Others
AC: W, May 20 
MHC: Tu, May 19 
SC: M, May 18 
UM: Tu, May 12 at midnight

Commencement
AC: Sun, May 24
HC: Sat, May 16 
MHC: Sun, May 17 
SC: Sun, May 17 
UM: F, May 8

Notes:

  • AC: W, Sept 3: Monday class schedule
  • UM: Tu, Oct 14; Tu, Feb 17; W, Apr 22 and Th, Apr 30: Monday class schedule, W, Nov 12: Tuesday class schedule